Aunty Rhoslyn comes out of retirement

This morning, I was lucky enough to be looking after a friend’s two month old baby for a few hours and staying with them for lunch afterwards. It was really nice to be around a baby again. Since my sisters finished having children (that is, they’re not having any more), I’m hardly ever around babies anymore 😦 Would you believe this is actually the first paid work that I have done since I arrived in Rome?! My education has done nothing to earn me money in Rome so far (including my expensive degree), but being from a large family and having looked after my nieces and nephews is what earned this money for me! How many 23 year olds do you know who could look after a tiny baby, change their nappy, feed them, wind them, put them to sleep (& repeat) and know when they need all or none of the above? It’s a skill which has become rare amongst my generation and it’s very sad! I’m not saying that I’m an expert but caring for a baby comes easily to me, for which I am thankful. Anyway, the next time I go over, I’m going to take a picture and ask if I can post it here for you all to see 🙂

Leave a Reply

