Liebster award

To the readers of this blog,

As you know, sometimes I am a bit of a muppet. Being a regular reader of the Eccles and Bosco is saved blog, I saw that Eccles had received a Liebster award from another Catholic blogger (whose blog I also enjoy), Countercultural Father . I thought this was very nice; I had a little read of the post and had a quick look at the blogs that Eccles had nominated, including Bara Brith (mainly because I was curious to know if this person was Welsh or not). However, I didn’t notice my own little blog there until Eccles pointed it out to me (his comment had gone into the spam filter)! What an unexpected honour! As you know, I talk about any old thing which comes into my head and I don’t get many hits, but then I don’t promote it that much or update it very often. I just write what I think, what’s troubling me or what has made me happy that day. If people like to read it, I’m glad! Anyway, I am so happy to receive this award and will therefore follow the instructions (copied from Countercultural Father’s blog) that go with this award…

What is the Liebster Award and how do you get one?
The Liebster Award was started some time ago by a German blogger (possibly here) who wanted to assist others in finding great but, under-subscribed to blogs.  The “award” nomination is granted from one blogger to another and is considered as “awarded” when the nominated blog completes a certain set of requirements.  The current requirements have evolved over time and are as follows:
  1. Post the Liebster award graphic on your site. (Google to find it if needed)
  2. Thank the blogger who nominated the blog for a Liebster Award and link back to their blog.
  3. The blogger then writes 11 facts about himself or herself so people who discover his or her blog through the Liebster post will learn more about him or her.
  4. In addition to posting 11 fun facts about themselves, nominated bloggers should also answer the 11 questions from the post of the person who nominated them.
  5. The nominated blogger will in turn, nominate 9 other blogs with 200 or fewer followers (I’m guessing for my nominees) for a Liebster award by posting a comment on their blog and linking back to the Liebster post.
  6. The nominated blogger will create 11 questions for his or her nominated blogs to answer in their Liebster post.

1.  Liebster

2. To dearest Bruvver Eccles, thank you for supporting my little blog 🙂

3.  Fact 1: All my brothers and sisters and I share a masculine middle name, which is Wendell (thankfully, we were given other middle names too!). My father cursed us with this name (which is his family’s name) and is probably the only one who is very proud that we all have it.

Fact 2: There are 3 brothers and 4 sisters in my family. Big families are the best!

Fact 3: I love to travel to other countries (I am really feeling the need for some sun right now…), but I love Wales the most.

Fact 4: I love cats and my cat is the cutest of them all.

Fact 5: I was educated in Welsh only (except for English Lit and Lang lessons) from play-school to university. I’m very proud of this skill and it is very useful when I need to do interviews or debates on pro-life topics on Welsh radio or TV.

Fact 6: I have been through many different stages in my faith. God is always guiding me to greater things and He has led me to the Latin mass, which I love very much. I think that the main thing I have learnt from attending the Latin mass, over the past 10 months or so, is to be more charitable towards others.

St franics

Fact 7: My hope is that I may be able to work full-time in the pro-life movement one day!

Fact 8: I am in no rush to tie myself down to a job that I do not care for.

Fact 9: I have a sweet tooth.

Fact 10: Eduardo Verastegui may be the most perfect eligible bachelor alive right now, I think… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yGR7VebOh4c

Fact 11: My greatest comfort is that no matter what I do or how I fail Him (and I have failed Him so many times), I know that God is always with me. All I need to do is trust in His plan.

Bruvver Eccles’ questions: 

(i) Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day?

Err, yes, you could do. However, summer days tend to start off bright and carry on late into the night, whereas I prefer to wake up around 11am and finish off the day with a G&T.

(ii) How many roads must a man walk down? 

As many as it takes for him to get to daily mass.

(iii) How long is a piece of string? 

This is the humiliating answer that was given to me from the French literature lecturer in front of around 200 students in my first year when I asked how long the essay should be.

(iv) Quis custodiet ipsos custodes? 

I reckon Almighty God should be equal to the task.

(v) Why did the chicken cross the road?

To escape from the clutches of a radical feminist.

(vi) Who is the fairest of them all?

Betty Draper

Betty Draper

(vi) What shall we do with the drunken sailor?

Make sure he drinks a pint of water with a Nurofen and send him to bed with a bucket, I think.

(viii) To be or not to be?

To be.

(ix) How much wood would a wood-chuck chuck if a wood-chuck could chuck wood?

Enough so that we don’t have to speak of the subject again, we pray.

(x) Where did you get that hat?

Asos.

(xi) What’s in a name?

Well, if Pope Francis is anything to go by, a lot!

5. Nominate 9 blogs (this is hard for me as I tend to read the odd post on lots of blogs. Also, I really can’t guarantee that they will have fewer than 200 followers! Sorry…I’m so unoriginal!) :

No. 1: Cardinal Winning Pro-life Initiative

No. 2: Why I am Pro-life

No. 3: Maria Stops abortion

No. 4:  Transalpine Redemptorists

No. 5: Catholic cookie jar 

No. 6: The Catechesis of Caroline

No. 7: Robert Colquhoun

No. 8: Offerimus Tibi Domine

No. 9: Kristen Walker Hatten’s blog for Live Action

11 questions for my nominees:

1. What do you aim to achieve with your blog posts?

2. Do you have a ‘target audience’?

3. Do you have a favourite topic that you write about?

4. Is there one person that you’d like to read your blog who currently does not do so?

5. Why did you decide to start a blog?

6. What is your guilty pleasure?

7. What is the most surprising thing that has happened to you this week?

8. What is your favourite time of day or day of the week to blog?

9. Is there a destination you’d like to visit in the near future?

10. If you could change the name of your blog now, without hurting your stats, what would you change it to?

11. If you could attend only one for the rest of your days, would you attend a high mass or a low mass?

PHEW! That’s me all done.

One thought on “Liebster award

Leave a Reply

