Venerable Fulton Sheen, pray for us!

I recently bought Venerable Fulton Sheen’s book, Wartime Prayer Book. It applies to you too, even if you are not in the army or anything. It is a treasure trove of spiritual guidance. I really love this man! I am going to pray to him a lot more in the future.

“We think sometimes that all God does is to see the evil we do! Do not be so discouraged. He sees every good act, every charity to our neighbour, every suppressed evil word, every drink of water given in His name”

“I must not be ashamed if I am fearful and if my whole being shrinks in dread, for the Lord in the Garden before going to the Battle of  Calvary prayed: “If it be possible, let this cup pass from me; nevertheless, not as I will, but as Thou wilt” (Matt. 26:39).

What I must fear is my unwillingness to fulfill the will of God as revealed by the present circumstances of my life. Not my will but Thine be done.

Though a battlefield is confusion worse confounded, though bullets may be as thick as the drops of rain, though I am one in a million in a vast cauldron of steel and fire, I am still in the eyes of God a person with an immortal destiny: “But even the hairs of your head are all numbered” (Matt. 10:30)”

Look at that face!

Look at that face!

Leave a Reply

