I’ve started so I’ll finish

Richard Collins, author of Linen on the Hedgerow, has asked 5 Welsh bloggers to answer these questions…

1. What is your favourite church (other than your parish church).

Well, this is very difficult but I am very fond of Basilica di Santa Maria in Trastevere (Rome), though I doubt it has a proper east facing altar. To be fair, I don’t know, but I suspect that is the case.

2. What non doctrinal element of the Faith would you like to see changed or updated.

Hmm, this is difficult. There are lots of things I’d like to see changed but that is because they are abuses of the Church’s teaching. I suppose I have noticed how female vocations are not really promoted by priests. Sometimes I’ll be with a man whilst speaking to a priest and the priest will encourage him to consider the priesthood but say nothing to me. The exception to this is Fr de Malleray (FSSP) who is probably the one priest who has encouraged me to consider religious life without me prompting him.

There are probably lots of things that I’d like to changed but I can’t bring them all to mind right now. It does annoy me how little priests mix with lay people…maybe I’m wrong to think that but I hate how a lot of them cut themselves off. Why go to seminary and learn all those things if you won’t share it with us. Doesn’t a shepherd mix with his flock?

3. Name a particular saint that you have a devotion to and why (not your patron saint).

Dawwwwww! Fr Thwaites (RIP)

I don’t really know what constitutes a devotion but I have listened to hours and hours of Fr Hugh Thwaites (SJ) and Venerable Fulton Sheen. I know they’re not saints but it is only a matter of time really. I’m always thinking about what they say and they have influenced my faith so much. I pray to them at the end of my rosary and in times of need (most of the time, that is!). I suppose I’m not very good at formal devotions. I always forget that I’m supposed to be praying a novena on day 2. Fail.

I was lucky enough to attend Fr Thwaites’ requiem mass but, at that time, I didn’t even know who he was, I just knew he had been denied a funeral in the old rite and I was just coming to the old rite at that time. On the Pro Ecclesia Dei website, I have listened to Fr Thwaites’ commentary on the catechism, all his talks on confession, all his talks on the Mystery of Faith, the papal encyclical Humani Generis and I’m about a quarter of the way through listening to Pascendi Gregis (essential listening but a bit on the heavy side to say the least!). There is still so much that he has done that I have not listened to and I suspect he has written books and whatnot too. I love his voice so much. I just relax instantly when I hear him speak.

As for Venerable Fulton Sheen, I downloaded the Iphone app which has a ton of his talks and I’ve listened to quite a few of those (but nowhere near as much as Fr Thwaites). I have his little Wartime prayer book and I also have another book at home of his that I haven’t read yet.

I don’t know if that constitutes a devotion but it’s as close as I get to it!

4. Which of these, in your view, presents the greatest threat to Catholics?

a) Islam  b) Secularism  c) Communism  d) Feminism

Without a shadow of a doubt, Feminism.

Feminists keeping it classy and encouraging their children to grow up to be well-rounded, respectful and loving people.

5. Who is your most admired priest (deceased)

Ooh, tough but it’s got to be Fr Thwaites, even though I never even met him! I know he is looking down on me every time I resist the urge to skip my rosary.

Leave a Reply

