Well done Julian Fellowes!

As we sat watching Downton Abbey yesterday, getting more annoyed the more useless Rosamund showed herself to be, we thought we would be sad witnesses of yet another programme which would pedal the same old liberal lie: that abortion is a woman’s ‘right’. How glad and proud we were when, after Edith sadly admitted that she would be killing her baby with an abortion and after she caught a glimpse of the misery which inevitably follows abortion (be it immediately or years later, in some cases) in the form of a sobbing woman in the ‘clinic’, she decided against abortion and her child was allowed to live! My Mum said afterwards [of Julian Fellowes], “He’s a Catholic, you know”, to which I replied that being a Catholic (in name) means nothing nowadays. That’s true, but that makes this particular occasion all the more sweet because no one would have batted an eyelid if a Catholic like Fellowes had openly shown support for abortion.

Yes, it’s only a story line, but it means that millions of people will see that strong message, and that was very brave of Julian Fellowes. I don’t know if Fellowes is a faithful Catholic (I found this about him in The Telegraph. He says, “On Sunday I like going to Church. I’m a Catholic so I’m conditioned to it.” Hmmm),  but he’s been faithful on this point and that’s good enough for me.

Who knows what seeds may have been sewn in the hearts of those watching last night, whilst curled up in front of the TV. It makes me happy to know that a pro-life message has been shared with so many. I hope it all goes right for Edith and her baby in the rest of series!

3 thoughts on “Well done Julian Fellowes!

  1. The one and only episode I watched of the 21st century version of Upstairs Downstairs involved a posh woman getting an abortion – I was disgusted. Mind you, the same character didn’t fare well thereafter.

    So I’m delighted to hear that the Downton Abbey story has taken a pro life twist – might I be a bit of a cynic and say that, in general, in fiction, people tend to have the baby, because that leads to more possible storylines.

    And in other news, I’ve found another Catholic on TV – I was swooning (TMI?) over the actor who plays Jason in “Atlantis”, to discover his name is Jack Donnelly (so probably Irish) and on further Googling, I discover he went to RC primary and post-primary schools. So culturally at least, Catholic.

    Add that to your speculation re Frances Quinn (winner of Great British Bake Off) and we’re everywhere at the moment!

    • Ah yes, I remember that. It always ruins a programme for me! She was a very callous character, but after she aborted her baby, her sister’s husband had an affair with her, even though he’d been privy to it all! I don’t know if they were passing comment on abortion by making her character so horrible, but it wasn’t done very well anyway and I don’t believe that all women who have abortions are callous, though I think that some *are* shockingly callous (that might get me in trouble with some people, but that is my experience). I think the portrayal of Edith is far more accurate – she was afraid of the repercussions of having a child, was deeply upset by the idea of abortion, but saw it as her only way ‘out’.

      I hadn’t thought of the idea that they had done it to eke out the story line, but she definitely said that abortion would kill her child, so I’m inclined to believe there was some goodwill behind it all, even if it was not their primary motivation.

      Regarding our new Catholic find, I like to believe that the cultural Catholic upbringing always stays with people, to some extent! 🙂

  2. From what you say, the Downton Abbey story does seem to be coming from a genuinely pro life point of view. I’ve just noticed in general in drama, that the unexpected baby more often than not is allowed to be born, irrespective of the ethos of the writers and I do think that’s because there’s more mileage (from the writing point of view) in a life continued than there is in a life ended. So even in fiction, it’s better to let the baby live!

    I agree with you about the Upstairs Downstairs plot. I felt the woman involved certainly wasn’t a loveable character and she came to a sad end, more due to her other actions than the actual abortion.

    I remember hearing Mary Kenny (journalist and writer) give a talk on how art/literature/drama plays a big part in shaping people’s attitudes to things, and she was hoping that pro life writers and dramatists would arise. She pointed out PD James’ book, the Children of Men, as a book showing the importance of new life. Also the recent sculptures by Damien Hirst of the unborn child may have some effect also.

    My favourite was reading a book of short sci-fi stories by Philip K Dick and the last one in the book was a story called “The Pre Person”. It was based on the idea of bringing pro-choice-ness to an absurd conclusion. You weren’t deemed to be a person until you could do algebra!! So anyone below the age of 12 was deemed to be a pre-person and could be killed at any time on the say-so of the mother. I was quite chuffed to find a pro life message hidden away in a book of sci-fi stories.

    In that particular story, the mother was going to have her 11 year old “terminated” and if memory serves, the father escaped with the young lad to another country which had different laws.

    Use whatever (legimate) means that works

    It’s a bit like St Paul in 1 Cor 9: 22b I have become all things to all people so that by all possible means I might save some.

Leave a Reply

