Sunshine Award

Dear Eccles has nominated me for a Sunshine Award, which I am told is an award given by one blogger to another, like the Liebster Award. It’s really kind of Eccles to do that for me because, bless his heart, Eccles is forever promoting my little blog! He has faith in me, and I am very grateful for that.

I have to do three things:

1. Post ten bits of information about myself.

2. Nominate ten other blogs.

3. Leave a comment on their blog to tell them they have been nominated.

Sunshine Award

Ok, ten bits of information about me and then ten blogs that I am also nominating.

Alrighty then…

– I am Welsh, born and bred, and a Welsh speaker, but my Mum is Anglo-Indian.

– I have six brothers and sisters. I am the youngest.

– I am very fond of cats, especially my own, Rhea. When she first came to us,  she would steal wet flannels and dish cloths and keep them in her bed like little kittens. I used to know a cat who would steal shallots from the cupboard and hide them under the sofa.

– When a recipe requires one clove of garlic, I put in four. One can never use too much garlic.

– St Anthony of Padua is my confirmation saint.

– One day, I wouldn’t mind training as a fitness instructor – it would kill two birds with one stone.

– Amaretto with ice is my tipple of choice.

– Saying sorry is not the hardest thing. Resolving to say sorry is the hardest thing. Once you’ve decided you will do it, the battle has been won.

– I have heard people say that everyone should write a book before they die, but I would hate to do that.

– All I want to do is bake cakes, be on pilgrimage and go to mass…but life gets in the way 😦

Now, ten blogs that I would like to nominate. This is a bit tough because Eccles has nominated a lot of the blogs that would like to nominate, probably because we read almost exactly the same blogs. There are blogs that I read that I think that have not been mentioned yet, however, there are only seven of them on my list. They’re a very strong seven, mind! And, I have only got a teeny weeny blog so is it ok if I’m let off the hook, pretty please?

1. Offerimus Tibi Domine 

I cannot believe that there are Catholics who do not read this blog. I say, “You don’t read Fr Henry’s blog?! But it’s so good!”.

2. The Cardinal Winning Pro-Life Initiative

This blog always has a broad collection of pro-life news and often writes about the saint of the day. Plus, the Cardinal Winning Pro-Life Initiative is pretty awesome too.

3. Catholic Scout

I have learnt so much from this person. I owe him a great debt because he has directed me to many wonderful sources of information regarding the Catholic faith and has taken the time to explain so much to me. Yes, I think he is a wise man.

4. A Chaplain Abroad

Now, I can’t tell you if Fr Rowe’s blog already gets a lot of readers. It probably does but I think that what he writes is hilarious and you should all read it. I would like to send Fr lots of e-mails to tell him how funny his posts are, but I think this would get annoying for him so I restrain myself. He hasn’t updated in over a month, but maybe he is away. Fr Rowe, please update your blog!

5. ALDU

A very informative and useful blog regarding life issues run by Robin Haig on behalf of The Association of Lawyers for the Defence of the Unborn. It is so important to be aware of pro-life issues from all sides, including the legal aspect. It just makes me cringe when pro-lifers cannot defend their argument with proper facts. The facts are on our side, that is the whole beauty of it!!

6. Zelie’s Roses

I often get asked where I bought my mantilla from and the one I wear at the moment I bought from the lady who runs this blog. I think it is well worth investing in a lovely mantilla because with a mantilla, you are giving glory to God and it is good to do so with a beautiful one. Also, when I am wearing clothes which are not very nice in mass (during 40 DFL for example, when I dress primarily to keep warm), I am very glad of my mantilla which allows me to keep something of beauty for God only.

7. Loving Mantillas 

Another place where mantillas are appreciated! We need to stick up for each other, you know! I just think it is a really beautiful tradition and it’s lovely to see them documented with such love on this site.

10 thoughts on “Sunshine Award

  1. Dear ragazzagallese, many thanks for your useful tips on other lesser-known blogs. I really don’t know where I’m going to find the time though to read through all these fascinating articles!

    I’m particularly pleased to have the last two, the “mantilla” links, as I’m needing a new one – so thanks again.

    Well deserved award, by the way! 🙂

    • Ah thank you, that’s very kind 🙂

      I haven’t seen it yet but I will listen to it today for sure. I love that blog so much but I haven’t kept up with it in a couple of weeks so thank you for pointing that one out to me 🙂

      xxxxx

      • Thank you so much for promoting our article ragazzagallese – and to Ursula. And thank you for the kind words to me that you left on our site. I’m really glad you liked the talk.

        Together we are all “fighting the good fight” for our Holy Catholic Church as far as we are able, aren’t we? This use of the modern invention of the internet is making that possible in a way no one could have dreamed of before.

        God Bless you and your strong witness to the Faith. You are just great!

Leave a Reply

