Bread right meow.

Since my last post, I have been thinking that there are lots of things that I could write about and I know that many thousands of people are waiting with bated breath for my next post. But every time I think of something, it just seems so self-obsessed and there would be far too much “me”, “I”, “think”, “feel” and 😥 😀 etc. in there. Later on, I would re-read the post and wonder why I’m such a plonker. So, here is a post about bread…wheat free bread actually (there will be some “I” and “me” here too, but not too much).

I won’t bore you with the particulars of my diet but making wheat free bread is of interest to me as of about a year ago. This is my first attempt and I am using this recipe for it (also copied for your viewing pleasure below).

It doesn’t say how many it serves, but I am going to go with 12 slices and see how it goes.

Because I’m counting macros (if you don’t know what this is, see here), I put the recipe into the My Fitness Pal app along with the exact ingredients I used, which I have also listed below alongside the recipe. I have also listed the exact amounts I used.

So, according to the ingredients I used and the number of slices I predict I will get out of it (12 slices), the macros for each slice are: Fat: 8.1g (2g saturated), Carbs: 6.3g (1.3g fibre), Protein: 5.4g. Pretty high in fat for bread (this is because of the cashew butter of course, but pretty darn low in carbs, so it all balances out). I have yet to try it (taste test tomorrow morning), but the reviews on the recipe are pretty good. Note: I did not use the proper amount of cashew butter. I bought a small jar from the organic shop which set me back £4 (I KNOW but I think buying organic is worth it in the end…) and this was not sufficient, but I didn’t know that until I started measuring out the ingredients this evening. I hope it hasn’t made too much of a difference. We’ll see.

Even though this recipe is available online, I actually found it in a book my friend bought me (who also has an interest in wheat free bread…). THANK YOU, FRIEND!

DSC_0122

Au tin

DSC_0123

En bas

En haut

En haut

Grain-free Sandwich Bread

AUTHOR: Danielle Walker – AgainstAllGrain.com

SERVES: makes 1 8.5×4.5 loaf

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 cup smooth raw cashew butter at room temperature – Biona organic cashew nut butter – 160g (probably needed about 40g or so more. Oops.)
  • 4 large eggs, separated (mine weighed about 9 ounces in their shells) – Sainsbury So Organic (medium)
  • ½ to 2 tablespoons honey (use 2tbl if you plan to use if for sweeter dishes like french toast) – Sainsbury So Organic clear honey – 21g
  • 2.5 teaspoons apple cider vinegar – Aspall organic cyder vinegar – 37mls
  • ¼ cup almond milk – I can’t drink almond milk so I used skimmed Lactofree – 60mls
  • ¼ cup coconut flour – Tiana organic coconut flour 27g
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda – bogstandard Sainsbury baking powder. I have a feeling this is probably different to what I was supposed to use. Meh. – 4g
  • ½ teaspoon sea salt – I actually used some pink himalayan salt (fancy!). I found it in TKMaxx and am now in love – I just sprinkled a bit.

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Preheat your oven to 300 degrees. For a white colored loaf as in the photo, place a small dish of water on the bottom rack.
  2. Line the bottom of an 8.5×4.5 glass loaf pan with parchment paper, then spread a very thin coating of coconut oil on the sides of the pan.
  3. Beat the cashew butter with the egg yolks, then add the honey, vinegar, and milk. I’ve done this with both electric hand beaters and a stand mixer and both seem to work equally as well. I would not try to make this by hand due to the stickiness of the butter.
  4. Beat the egg whites in a separate bowl until peaks form. I used an electric hand mixer, but if you want a bicep workout, you can also do it by hand.
  5. Combine the dry ingredients in another small bowl. Sorry for all of the dishes!
  6. Make sure your oven is completely preheated before adding the egg whites and the dry ingredients to the cashew butter mixture. You don’t want your whites to fall, and the baking soda will activate once it hits the eggs and vinegar.
  7. Pour the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients, and beat until combined. This will result in more of a wet batter than a dough. Make sure to get all of the sticky butter mixture off of the bottom of the bowl so you don’t end up with clumps.
  8. Pour the beaten egg whites into the cashew butter mixture, beating again until just combined. You don’t have to be gentle with this, but don’t over mix.
  9. Pour the batter into the prepared loaf pan, then immediately put it into the oven.
  10. Bake for 45-50 minutes, until the top is golden brown and a toothpick comes out clean. Don’t be tempted to open the oven door anytime before 40 minutes, as this will allow the steam to escape and you will not get a properly risen loaf.
  11. Remove from the oven, then let cool for 15-20 minutes. Use a knife to free the sides from the loaf pan, then flip it upside down and release the loaf onto a cooling rack. Cool right-side up for an hour before serving.
  12. Wrap the loaf up tightly and store in the fridge for 1 week. I actually think the loaf gets better as the days go on.

2 thoughts on “Bread right meow.

Leave a comment